young and spider veins

iVillage Member
young and spider veins
Sun, 12-06-2009 - 2:23am
Hey,
So I recently noticed spider veins beginning to appear on my right shin. I always knew I would probably get them (there is a strong family history of them on my fathers side). The only thing that strikes me as odd about this is that I am barely 20 (like i turned 20 less then a month ago). I'm not obese, although I'm only a few pounds away from being officially considered "over weight". I am a student, but I do not sit in one position for long periods of time, and I walk at least 2 miles every day. Other then the walking i'm not as active as I would like but i am a dancer and dance regularly. also i'm not pregnant, nor have i ever been, and I'm not on birth control. The only recent medical issue I've had is a mild (but persistent) case of mono. so what gives?
Has any one else gotten spider veins this young? Should I be concerned at all?
Thanks
-S.
iVillage Member
Mon, 01-04-2010 - 5:00pm
Oh dear, I should have said welcome back to the board! I see you've visited here before. I hope you'll stop by again soon!

Siggy
Community Leader of Women's Health Issues

Administrator
Mon, 12-21-2009 - 9:31am

Hi Sadi, I took your question to our health, diet and wellness expert, Dr. Madelyn Fernstrom, and this is what she had to say: http://messageboards.ivillage.com/iv-fbmadelyn/messages?msg=138.2

I hope this helps. :)

Karla
Community ModeratoriVillage.com

iVillage Member
Thu, 12-17-2009 - 3:27pm
I've had them on my left calf and lower back my entire life as well.

iVillage Member
Tue, 12-15-2009 - 7:09pm
Welcome to the Women's Health Issues board, C! Thanks for your input, and please visit us again.

Siggy

iVillage Member
Mon, 12-14-2009 - 9:38pm

Hello S, I've had them my whole life.

iVillage Member
Tue, 12-08-2009 - 5:18pm
Hello, S., and welcome to the Women's Health Issues board!