New and wanted to introduce myself

iVillage Member
New and wanted to introduce myself
Tue, 12-15-2009 - 12:17am

Well, I don't really know what to say, other than the fact is I am trying to lose weight. I am 26 years old and ever since puberty I have had weight issues. I get so down on myself because I was such a pretty, thin girl and now I am a whale (I know negativity is bad but unfortunately its one of my big problems.) I am now at my all time highest weight. I have been battling depression for a couple years now and I know that I am an emotional eater and these are all things that I am trying to deal with. My mom is a very thin person and my grandma is always on me about my weight so I don't really have anyone to talk to about it. I am just hoping that I can get some inspiration, motivation and tips from this board. I have never joined one of these boards before and I am hoping it will help. You would think that being healthy and skinny would be enough of a motivator for me but its not. Sometimes I just think giving up is easier. I would like to lose about 100lbs and it seems like such an unattainable goal. I don't even know where to start.

Thanks for listening.

iVillage Member
Tue, 12-15-2009 - 11:28pm

Welcome to the board! Many of us have struggled with our weight for our whole lives - you are smart to try to get it under control while you are so young. I am 53 and have been on this journey for 6 years - this is not the first time for me, but I plan for this

iVillage Member
Mon, 12-21-2009 - 6:01pm