Just wanted to Introduce Myself

iVillage Member
Just wanted to Introduce Myself
Fri, 05-07-2010 - 5:01pm

Hello, I wanted to introduce myself so here it goes. My name is Tori, I am a month away from 33, I live in South Carolina, and have a very complicated life. I'm married to a fantastic man but he came with some baggage. He's 48 which makes him 15 yrs my elder. He has a daughter and son from a previous marriage. His daughter is 27 and she

Tori McCormick

Pages

iVillage Member
Sat, 05-08-2010 - 12:15am

Hello! I am new to this also! I am not however new to being over weight. I have struggled with my weight all of my life, or as long as I can remember! I have also come to the conclusion that its time for a change! if i do not do something now I could end up like my mother who is 60 and very unhealthy. I look at her and I think to myself "where will I be when I am 60?" I want to be able to walk by myself and not worry about diabetes and a long, long, list of other health problems. I am 24 and I am already starting to see some of the health issues she has. I want to do it this time! So many times Ive tried but failed, because I gave up and gave in! It is so hard to conquer this battle alone!

iVillage Member
Sat, 05-08-2010 - 12:06pm

It is so nice to meet you Katie. I am with ya girl. I have struggled with my weight all my life also. I remember my first Weight Watchers meeting, I was 13. What I remember the most is what the scale read when I stepped on it, 156 lbs. My mother tried to help me, she tried cooking low fat and didn't allow junk food in our house but I was a kid I wanted to eat like everyone else. So now I'm knocking on 33 and I weigh 281 lbs. I also have family members that are obese and have health problems. My mom was diagnosed with diabetes last year and her father also has diabetes. So its just matter of time, I guess.