Newbie here

iVillage Member
Newbie here
Mon, 08-09-2010 - 10:08pm

Hello all!

I'm new here. My name's Marlena. I am starting on my journey to lose 100 lbs. God, that is soooooooo daunting to think about. I have to remind myself that it's small steps and small goals. Otherwise I'll get too intimidated and quit.

I want to lose the weight for my daughter. I want to be here for a long time. I don't want to miss out on Ali's life.

Anyhoo--I've always been overweight. I was born overweight. LOL For a period of time in college I went through a no-eating period and lost a ton of weight. I miss those days. And, actually, b/c I had gestational diabetes, I followed a strict diet when I was pregnant and ended up losing weight and being 10 lbs below my prepregnancy weight 2 weeks after I had Ali. So I CAN do. I can eat well. And I've already proven that I can eat a healthy diet and that, over time, I stop craving sugar so badly. The problem for me right now is that I"m in the middle of a long run of eating horribly and want to basically start an IV of sugar. SIGH

I've had a HORRIBLE year. We had a fire and lost everything, husband and dad both seriously sick, both DH and I lost our jobs, etc. I've TOTALLY been eating just out of emotions. Things are finally, sort of, starting to calm down. At least I can see a light at the end of the tunnel. I want to get back on track.

Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself. Currently I weight 249. My first goal is 10% of my weight so 24 lbs. I look forward to getting to know everyone!

~Marlena

MarlenaAli616.jpg Ali picture by gal_marlena

MarlenaAli616.jpg Ali picture by gal_marlena

iVillage Member
In reply to: gal_marlena
Sun, 08-15-2010 - 9:03pm

;o) @ SJ!

"I'm in year 7 of my 3 year plan..."

I love your sense of humor and your dedication!

Glad you're back here - I really missed you!

Liz

"Never run faster than your gaurdian angel can fly!"

"Never run faster than your guardian angel can fly!"

iVillage Member