teaching writing classes

iVillage Member
teaching writing classes
Mon, 09-22-2008 - 12:26pm

I am an English Education major, and I am taking my first "creative writing" class...and

iVillage Member
Mon, 09-22-2008 - 12:46pm

I DO teach writing -- all over the country, as well as publish regularly under a half a dozen names.

One of the most important things I look for in a teacher is to make sure the person is a working writer, not a theorist. I want to learn from published authors. If you talk the talk, you better be ready to walk the walk. I also want a class that's active, not passive. I want assignments, I want CONstructive criticism (not DEstructive criticism), I want techniques, I want the teacher to help me shape the work into the best it can be in MY voice, not encourage other students to rewrite it in THEIR voices.

As a teacher, I aim to provide a similar experience that I search for as a student.

As a teacher, I make sure my classes/workshops are focused. I am very strict -- no cellphones, texting, PDAs, music, chewing gum allowed during class. The time spent in the class is to be focused on classwork. I don't care what you've got going on in the rest of your life -- if you can't spend the hour or so out of it, don't take my class.

I listen to my students. I encourage them to develop their individual styles, rather than trying to make them all sound the same (I once took a class where the teacher insisted if we didn't write like John Gardner we "didn't know what writing was"). Now, I admire John Gardner -- I don't want to write like him.

We do assignments both inside class and outside of it. I encourage interaction. I encourage them to form writing groups away from class, if the chemistry is good. I remind them to re-read STRUNK AND WHITE before every major revision. I use anecdotes and examples to illustrate specific points, but they are no more than a paragraph or two in tandem to what we discuss, not instead of it.