Cross-Post Question

iVillage Member
Cross-Post Question
Thu, 06-04-2009 - 9:00am

I hope it is ok to just jump in with a question. I am determined to have a career as a freelance writer of articles and books. Taking classes and workshops have built up my confidence, but I need to get started. I have two questions:

How do I begin???

Someone suggested ehow to get me started. Is this really a good idea? This is not going to be a hobby, but my career so I am not sure if this is a route I should consider.

Thanks for any and all advice.

iVillage Member
Thu, 06-04-2009 - 9:10am

As a full-time freelancer writer, I have posted extensively on this topic on this board. With a little research in the archives, you can find those posts.

Re: ehow. I say absolutely not. They're a mill content site that pays a pittance and per page view, which means it's maybe-someday payments. I don't know about you, but my landlord and utilties don't let me pay my bills that way, so why should I be paid that way?

You want to build up clips from LEGITIMATE places to vault you into well-paid work.

Again, I've answered this question in detail at least a dozen times on this board, so looking in the archives will give you my suggestions.

Good luck

Ink in My Coffee: http://devonellington.wordpress.com Hex Breaker: http://hexbreaker.devonellingtonwork.com www.fearlessink.com www.devonellingtonwork.com
iVillage Member
Sat, 06-06-2009 - 11:00am

Welcome to The Writing Life, oldanddesperate.

I'm pretty old and not too desperate (but still desperate enough) so I can relate.

Please do look back in both folders of this board to find Devon's advice and links to her own articles. It seems every time my writing life runs out of gas, Devon writes something to bring me fuel.