Project updates?

iVillage Member
Project updates?
Wed, 03-10-2010 - 11:10pm

While I am guilty of having been somewhat off-grid of late, I have been getting some writing done in between life and academic obligations. When time allows, I

~Tori

"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail Better." ~ Samue

Pages

iVillage Member
Thu, 03-11-2010 - 11:27am

Mind if I just jump in? I am not a professional writer. I am more of a science and old dinosaur type computer nerd.

But, as the fates would have it, I had some special needs kids, got laid-off from IBM after a couple decades there, and had a scream in me that had to come out... so it erupted in the form of writing about what we went through with our younger daughter and the "comedy" (more like tragedy)of errors we made.

After doing my 800page purge of my anguish, I got more focus... took classes. Started a cathartic blog at http://www.ItsNotMental.com, contracted out to write science news summaries on a website, did some part-time teaching jobs on the side, and 4 years later, have a manuscript in the final stages of being polished up for publication.

But then I realize, after taking a seminar in self-publishing, and learning more... how little I know about this side of things! So... back to school - I just signed up for 4 Computer Graphics Design classes which I am really excited about.

I already have the main cover photo (actually a painting by an artist friend of a friend who'd done it as a gift for my daughter (the one the book is about). Of course, I know nothing yet about cover layouts, but at least I'll know a whole lot more by summer!

I am so excited! And SCARED!!!

Am I on the correct iVillage Board?

www. It's Not Mental .com

iVillage Member
Thu, 03-11-2010 - 12:22pm