Wednesday log

iVillage Member
Wednesday log
Wed, 04-09-2003 - 2:44pm
Who does drop sets? Was it Soleil? I tried them today and they're really tough! I've never done them before and my muscles burned. I don't know if I'm doing them right, but I started at my normal weights, then worked my way down the rack, working each to exhaustion. I couldn't get over how heavy the lower weights felt. I'll see how I feel tomorrow.

After skating last night and 25 minutes on the stairmaster beforehand, I had too wiped out to work the crosstrainer as hard. I did level 11 for two minutes/level 8/9 for two minutes for half an hour and that was as high as I could manage. I was nice and let a woman who had a screaming child in the playroom go ahead of me on the crosstrainer, or I would have done that first. I figured if she didn't get on then, they would have called her out. I"m feeling good, though and burned off 500 calories on the machines...or so they say...

Jen, I still have that song in my head!

Pages

iVillage Member
In reply to: cl_jeanwl
Wed, 04-09-2003 - 2:56pm
If I understand what you're referring to, I do them all the time when I lift! I do either three sets of 8 or 10 or two sets of 15, depending on how strong I am, starting with the highest weight, working to fatigue (which is why it's 8, 10, or 15), then dropping 10-15 pounds (depends on the increments in the plates) for the successive set(s). 50 pounds turns into a whole lot after two harder sets! I find that it's great for improving my strength on a regular basis and keeping me motivated--I don't feel a sense of failure because as far as I'm concerned, fatigue is always good, regardless of what weight I'm using.