Treamill question!

iVillage Member
Treamill question!
Thu, 04-10-2003 - 9:52am
Hi guys! This is my first time writing on the message board, I recently joined iVillage and I love it.

Anywayz, I need some help. I run to love on the treadmill but i get so sweaty it's gross and very annoying. I feel like I can keep running all night, I'm not out of breathe and my body doesn't hurt, it's just that I get so sweaty i have to stop. I dont' know why this happens. Does anyone know what I can do or what I should do to prevent it?

I'm in very good shape, so it's not like I can't keep up. I don't sweat this much on the elliptical or stair master.

Thanks!!!!
iVillage Member
Thu, 04-10-2003 - 10:38am
Welcome! Have you taken your heartrate on the machines? Make sure you're in your target heartrate zone. If you are, then that might be just how your body is. I sweat a lot, too. I keep a towel draped on the machines and wipe with it frequently.

iVillage Member
Thu, 04-10-2003 - 10:39am
hi jeannine. i'm not sure i understand the question, why does sweating prevent you from continuing to run? if it's annoying, perhaps you could wear a sweatband or a bandanna or keep a towel handy. as far as being gross, i don't mean this in an obnoxious way, but you'll just have to get over that if you want to exercise effectively. if you aren't sweating, you aren't getting your heartrate high enough to do you much benefit. if you want to build cardio fitness, you gotta sweat.