Inner thigh exercises

iVillage Member
Inner thigh exercises
Thu, 05-15-2003 - 10:44am
I've been working out everyday for two months now. I was on a 3 year work-out hiatus. Anyway, my body is responding really well to all the exercise. Things are getting firm and toning up. My question to you all is what exercise is best for inner thighs. I really want to shrink that area down.

Thanks!

iVillage Member
Thu, 05-15-2003 - 11:21am
You can't spot reduce an area, but you can spot tone. By spot toning, you work that muscle and it gets larger. To make it smaller, if it's fat, is to reduce fat in your body overall but, surgery aside, you can't choose where the fat comes off. You could just be genetically programmed to carry it there last. The adductor machine would work that area but you'd be using weight and it might get bigger. You can also lie on your side with your top leg bent, thne lift the lower leg up and down.

I found a picture since I'm terrible at describing things.

http://www.fitmoves.com/Video/Exercise%20Dictionary/Adductor%20Lifts.htm

iVillage Member
Thu, 05-15-2003 - 11:45am
i agree but toning won't necessarily make an area look larger, higher rep exercises might make the muscle more defined which will change the shape of that area, but i don't think it'll make it look larger. if you were to do low rep (<15 reps) exercises, you'd start to build muscle on your inner thigh and that might make it look a little larger, but that area doesn't have very large muscle groups to begin with so you aren't going to get big muscles there the way you might in your quad for instance.