spinning tips?

iVillage Member
spinning tips?
Tue, 06-17-2003 - 10:21am
jeez, it's so quiet around here without jean!!

so i have this trial membership to the gym i'm considering joining and i'm going to go try a spinning class today, which is the main reason i'm interested in joining the gym. i haven't spinned, or spun, or whatever the past tense is, for about ten years, so i'm basically a complete beginner...

anyone have any tips or suggestions for making my spin more effective, more enjoyable, etc.?

Pages

iVillage Member
In reply to: jenindc
Tue, 06-17-2003 - 10:31am
sorry, wish i could help... i've never spun either. but i'm very curious to try it once i get back to the states, so let us know what you think!

it is quiet here w/o jean. :(

iVillage Member
Tue, 06-17-2003 - 10:56am
It's just like riding a bike! (Sorry, I had to do that.) You've done it before so just remember your water and expect your rear-end to be sore for the first few classes. It's also a good idea to arrive a few minutes early so that the instructor can help you properly adjust your bike. Proper form makes the workout even better; don't sit too heavily in your seat. When standing and pedaling, you should be able to balance yourself with just the tips of your fingertips touching the handlebars. The work is in your legs. Keep your feet parallel to the ground; don't point your toes upwards or downwards. Relax and enjoy!
iVillage Member
Tue, 06-17-2003 - 5:53pm
The biggest thing that I found out in my spinning class is to wear spandex. Definitely better for spinning, at least for me.
iVillage Member
Tue, 06-17-2003 - 9:45pm
I own a pair of those padded bike shorts, but my butt still hurt after spinning, I think one of those gel seats would be a great investment....also, a HUGE bottle of water! I always finish mine before the end of class.
iVillage Member
Wed, 06-18-2003 - 12:41am