How? Present a class to a health club.

iVillage Member
How? Present a class to a health club.
Fri, 08-22-2008 - 5:39pm
Hi,

I have 12+ years experience doing kung fu (chinese martial arts). When I was married my ex-husband and I had a school of our own so I have taught quite a bit too. I still practice but really miss teaching,

Pages

iVillage Member
Fri, 08-22-2008 - 9:22pm

Hi and welcome to Gymrats!

iVillage Member
Sat, 08-23-2008 - 9:06am

I have actually done this quite a few times.

L Signature

iVillage Member
Sat, 08-23-2008 - 10:17am

Thank you, freshstartnow, I will definately keep checking back. I teach several styles of kung fu or wushu as its also known, including Shaolin, Long Fist, Eagle Claw, Preying Mantis...haha, all very mysterious sounding I'm sure!

Wushu (as I like to call it, its the chinese word meaning martial art) can actually be very rough on the joints like all strenous exercises, however, it is possible to learn it, and still get a good workout, in a low impact way. In fact, I know a master in his late 70's, still teaching and still quite agile and good at his art, which would not be the case if he'd destroyed his joints as a young man. Its very adaptable to learning and practicing at any age.