How often-

iVillage Member
How often-
Sat, 02-28-2009 - 9:19pm

do you change up your routine? I have been doing pretty much the same things for a few months and though I figure I should probably switch things up- I like what I do kwim?

Curious on how often you all change things up, and how drastic do you change things?

Photobucket
Photobucket

Pages

iVillage Member
In reply to: sillymammakim
Sun, 03-01-2009 - 4:46pm
I usually change things up every 4 to 6 weeks. I get bored if I don't. I'm due for a change now but I'm trying
iVillage Member
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 8:17am

Hi Kim, and welcome to gymrats!

iVillage Member
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 8:21am
With my clients, I change their workouts every six weeks. With my own workouts, it's more often and less formal. I notice that I just seem to phase things in and out. I'll think of a variation of something, find an exercise in a magazine and then next time, that replaces whatever I was doing before. If it works, I'll keep it. If not, I'll go back to whatever I was doing.
iVillage Member
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 8:48am
I change activities with the seasons and am constantly changing what I do anyway, out of boredom.

iVillage Member
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 9:40am

SO how much should I change? Whole program?

Right now I do a body pump total body weight class which is pretty much the same ALL the time. I use the elliptical, but vary programs amd resistance, occasional step mill, occasional spin (when I wake for it), treadmill only when I am in pain or discomfort. When I do my own weights I do pretty much the same stuff for fear of doing anything new wrong.

Photobucket
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 9:42am
Oh I love opinions...thanks for sharing. I'm actually not totally new here. I pop in and out a lot- think we may have even had a similar discussion not terribly long ago, just couldnt locate it.
Photobucket
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Mon, 03-02-2009 - 10:11am