Personal Training Dilemma

iVillage Member
Personal Training Dilemma
Sat, 08-29-2009 - 10:10am
There's a mom I know pretty well at my son's TKD studio. She's lost a lot of weight and I was talking to her about it. She said she took a nutrition class at the hospital and was working with a trainer, turns out from my gym. I casually said, "Oh, I'm a trainer there, too. If I knew before you signed up with her, I could have worked with you for free!" I meant it to mean, I could have set her up with a program. She perked up and said she had just signed up for another 10 sessions but she would call me after that. Ugh. I'm not stealing another trainer's client. But, as I was thinking about it, what if I trained on my own outside the gym? Would it have been wrong for me to get clients like that? I think the ehtical problem is that we both train at the same gym. I'm not going to work with her, it's not an issue. Just because someone is already seeing a trainer, is it ethical to recruit that person--whether or not you know the other trainer? I'm thinking in terms of someone like Kel who has her own business.

Pages

iVillage Member
Sat, 08-29-2009 - 1:15pm

Well, I see a couple issues here.

iVillage Member
Sat, 08-29-2009 - 6:34pm
Good points. Yeah, I guess I wouldn't feel bad if I didn't work at the same gym and could offer her better prices. If she ever called me, I'd have to clarify that I certainly can't train her for free every week and I also can't train for reduced rates at the gym. If she wanted to switch me to, at the same rate, that would be another bridge that I'd cross if it ever came to it but I also think her goals are unrealistic so would hesitate.

iVillage Member
Sun, 09-06-2009 - 12:23pm
It sounds like you made an honest attempt to be friendly. Why don't you just let the other trainer know exactly what happened. It's never the crime that gets you, it's always the cover up.
iVillage Member
Mon, 09-07-2009 - 5:22pm