This might sound silly, but how do yo...

iVillage Member
This might sound silly, but how do yo...
Wed, 02-12-2003 - 6:30am

This might sound silly, but how do you know if you have agoraphobia? More...

I feel like I would never care if I left my apartment again. I have reasons to be depressed which I will not burden you here with. The main thing is, I don't want to go out at all. I do have anxiety attacks when I have to go out other than walking my dog or going to the grocery store at the corner, which is usually okay with me. I am normally a very courageous person. I have traveled all over the country all alone in a van with four pets for months on end. I am a student pilot and love to fly. But the past few months, I just do not want to go out at all. I don't even want to walk my dog, although I do. I just want to stay in here and not go out at all. I am so happy when I have groceries and pet food stocked and don't have to go out for a day or two. I walk my dog around our apartment complex and see cars going by on the street and think, "Wow, all those people! What are they doing? Where are they going? What are they thinking - go home, go home!!!" To me there is no place better than home. I have even considered engaging an assistant to do my errands so I can stay at home. I have everything I need here. Is this agoraphobia or simple laziness? I confess I fear it is the latter. I don't think this is a healthy attitude to have. As happy as I am at home, I feel that I should be more engaged with the world. I should go out and provide for myself and my pets. I am single with no children and no one to rely upon. I am not under any doctor's supervision and do not take any medication.

Any thoughts would be welcome, if only to jolt me out of this months-long torpor.

Hugs - Amy

Hugs,

Amy

Remember Penguin  &nb

iVillage Member
Wed, 02-12-2003 - 7:36am

~~Amy~~Welcome & (M)