New Sobriety and New Relationship

iVillage Member
New Sobriety and New Relationship
Tue, 03-25-2003 - 1:09pm
Hi girls, I may be posting a lot in the near future, so be warned! I just completed a 5 week outpatient program last night and I'm worried that without the constant distraction, I will lose sight of all of my accomplishments and forget about what my sobriety has given me. I am grateful for this forum!

Here comes my question - I am new to sobriety and have also just begun a new relationship. I have been honest with him about being sober and why I am doing this (although not too revealing - he doesn't need to know ALL my dirt!) and he is completely supportive of my sobriety. He does drink but he is not a problem drinker.

My counselor at my outpatient facility warned me to take things slow in this relationship. I am worried that I am "replacing" my drinking with a relationship instead of facing my real demons on my own. Does anyone have any advice for me on how not to do this?

My drinking problem stemmed from a loss of control when I drank, once I started, I was powerless to control how much I had. I haven't had a problem not drinking daily, when I used it was only 1 or 2x/week and sometimes not at all. (In the past it was much more often, when I was in college.)

So I don't think I am replacing my problem with him, because I don't feel I am using his company to assuage my cravings to drink. Although I must admit, it is nice to have him to hang out with on the weekends when most of my friends are either in significant relationships or out binge drinking. So in this sense I feel good about not isolating myself, because I feel if I were at home lonely I would feel a strong desire to drink to curb the boredom.

Hope this isn't too lengthy, I really like this guy and we have a strong connection. I want to do this right. Thanks for any advice.

iVillage Member
Tue, 03-25-2003 - 1:55pm