Is this reflux?

iVillage Member
Is this reflux?
Sat, 07-25-2009 - 9:11am

Lucas is 8 weeks old tomorrow and he has a few issues I didn't encounter with my other nursing babies and I'm wondering if he has reflux or just a problem from my fast letdowns.

Spring Butt
iVillage Member
In reply to: boatermik
Sat, 07-25-2009 - 10:38am

It doesn't sound like true reflux to me and just a matter of how fast he is having to gulp the milk in. Angelina sometimes has a choking moment while nursing like you mention but I know it's just the huge gush of letdown challenging her. I am sure you would know true throwing up versus spitting up because the difference is apparent. My first dd was a huge piglet and used to overeat and then throw up and it was clear that several ounces of milk came out. She would soak several burp cloths a day.

To me it sounds like Lucas is just getting a bit of force feeding from your fast letdown and not actual reflux. I'm no doctor though and your instincts count for more than my experience:)

Photobucket

Lilypie
Photobucket

iVillage Member
Sat, 07-25-2009 - 11:22am

Graysen has reflux and it is more of a problem after he has eaten (not during). He would arch his back and cry after eating. He would also throw up often and this would hurt and he would wince and cry.

To me, the difference between spitting up and throwing up is that when they spit up it is straight milk. It doesnt really have an odor and if just liquid. I consider it throw up when it happens well after feeding and is curdled and has a strong odor.

Hope that helps!

Heather

Summer Siggy 
iVillage Member
Sat, 07-25-2009 - 12:21pm
There is a form of reflux from fast let down On kellymom.com there are suggestions to slow your let down down. I would check it out!
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Sat, 07-25-2009 - 1:57pm