Clothes for an interview?

iVillage Member
Clothes for an interview?
Sun, 04-11-2010 - 8:20pm
So I haven't interviewed for a job since I was a freshman in college. I slid right from internships into a full time position at a particular company. When I was in college, and because I was so young, I just wore a dress shirt and nice pants and called it good.

I'm out exploring job options right now (applying like crazy, actually), and spent the weekend looking for suits to wear to an interview.

I'm not sure what I should wear. A full on suit feels too formal to me somehow? I ended up getting "separates" -- black suit jacket, gray patterned pants (See link below), and a black and white silk top to go underneath. I'm not sure if this is formal enough.

What would you wear on an interview? (I should also specify that I'm an engineer and work with 95% males. Somehow a skirt suit seems inappropriate in a manufacturing environment...)

Here are the pants:
http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/3076032

Lilypie

Photobucket

Biggest Loser Challenge

Pages

iVillage Member
Sun, 04-11-2010 - 8:59pm
I would normally wear a suit but I love the pants you chose!
JJ smiles
iVillage Member
Sun, 04-11-2010 - 9:37pm

When I was getting out of the army, they said it all depended on the job you were applying for. As an Engineer I would wear a pants suit. I don't believe you could be to formal for these interviews. I would also wear small pumps no matter how tall you are.

Here is another tip, and it may sound a bit crazy, but make sure you have no clutter in your car going to the interviews. If your interviewer walks out to your car and it seems in a disarry (sp) even if the cd cases are out of place it can be a deal breaker, expecailly in the Engineering field. GL and KUP!

Photobucket
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Sun, 04-11-2010 - 9:54pm