Legal rights - Pumping at work???

iVillage Member
Legal rights - Pumping at work???
Sat, 06-18-2011 - 8:10pm
I am a teacher. I'm starting to get concerned about my ability to pump during my schedule next year. My plan period is at the end of the day, so that doesn't really help. I can do it during my lunch but sometimes I have lunch duty. Do we have legal rights for this? I'm really upset about this. :(
iVillage Member
Sat, 06-18-2011 - 8:39pm
Yeah, you do legally have the right to pump if you so choose. I was a teacher when my first was born and had a lengthy conversation about this with the lactation consultant, who kept telling me "They HAVE to let you pump!" I was trying to get it through her head that even though the law might say they have to, it really wouldn't have been reasonable for me to expect them to do it. It would've meant them sending a sub to my room a couple times a day at least.
baby
iVillage Member
Sat, 06-18-2011 - 9:45pm
Yes legally they have to allow you time, a room dedicated just to pumping with a lock on the door. It may vary from state to state. I would.contact La Leche, I'm sure the will know the legal rights or do a search. But it's your bosses job to figure out someone to cover for you during the time you pump.
iVillage Member
Sun, 06-19-2011 - 4:46am
I like the pp ideas. Hopefully it'll be great and they will all work with you to make pumping schedule possible. That's the last thing we need is more stress with a new baby

luvmy4kids Made with My Cool Signs.Net

&

iVillage Member
Sun, 06-19-2011 - 2:39pm
I do know that pumping for teachers can be a challenge. I'd really, really encourage you to jump over to the breastfeeding / lactation consultant support board. I know this questions comes up over there a lot and the CL of that board has put together a very nice list of tips and tricks specifically for teachers to help them succeed at pumping.