Another 2 month old ...

iVillage Member
Another 2 month old ...
Thu, 09-29-2011 - 7:56pm

My baby girl was 2 months yesterday ... I can't believe she's ALREADY 2 mos old.

Birth:

iVillage Member
Fri, 09-30-2011 - 1:30pm
Sounds like a good check-up :) Good to know about rotavirus vaccines, too... I think my little guy is on the verge of laughing also- I can't wait because baby laughs are the cutest thing ever. I agree on the Hep B. I declined the one at birth also- I didn't do that with my daughter and I was PO'd to find out that she ended up getting 4 doses because they only gave the combo vax that had the Hep B included. I do vax for it because I'm a nurse and exposed to it... Sometimes common sense just doesn't win when it comes to healthcare.
~Andrea~ IMG_1563
iVillage Member
Fri, 09-30-2011 - 7:11pm
The Pediarix has dtap, polio and hep B. HIB is a separate vaccine. My LO just got those 2 plus prevnar and rotavirus today. So don't get another hep B shot in a month if she already got #1 in the hospital!
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Mon, 10-03-2011 - 9:47am
My mistake! She got the Pentacel vaccine, which is DTap, IPV and Hib.

Still ... I don't like the combination vaccines!! I'm not anti-vaccine at all. And I actually don't care how many needle sticks my kids get (some consider this sadistic, but seriously shots don't hurt that much ... had one just the other day myself!). But I do want the option to control which vaccines are received when.

The idea behind combining vaccines is to make parents feel better about the crowded immunization schedule, thereby making room for MORE vaccines.

And the "due by 2" -- or in other words why they have to receive so many so early, instead of a more cautious spaced out approach - is because after age 2, many children don't receive regular well-child exams.