Sippy Cup Recommendations

iVillage Member
Sippy Cup Recommendations
Thu, 08-11-2011 - 8:24pm

My son is coming to 11 months old this month and we have started him on sippy cups in the past but he did not take to them until recently. I am wondering which sippy cup worked for your child at this age?

Should I be using a soft top or hard top? Straw?

iVillage Member
Thu, 08-11-2011 - 9:01pm

WE absolutely LOVE all the playtex ones. I say start with one of the small playtex ones like the sipsters or even one of the lil' gripper straw ones. I would definitely recommend playtex no matter which you go for. My kids took them so easily and they never leak. Which I loved!!

Photobucket

iVillage Member
Thu, 08-11-2011 - 9:46pm

I am a developmental therapist for babies under 3, so this one is right up my alley :)! Start with a soft spout - they are the most like a bottle. I really like the cheap ones you can get at Walmart. You can advance to a hard spout after he's mastered the soft one, but I avoid the ones with the plugs that control the flow of liquid. They are more work than a slow-flow nipple. The best hard spout cups are the cheap Take-N-Toss ones that you can get anywhere. I recommend holding off on the straw cup until they have mastered the hard spout. Some babies love the straw cups and will not accept the sippee cup after using them, which they need to do to progress to an open cup. Some babies also need a lot of help to learn to drink from a straw - 11 months may be a little young for this.

Good job transitioning at 11 months - you wouldn't believe how many babies I have to help got off of a bottle at 2 1/2!

iVillage Member
Thu, 08-11-2011 - 9:49pm