need advice/ideas about work situation

iVillage Member
need advice/ideas about work situation
Thu, 03-01-2012 - 4:15pm

i told my boss i wanted to return from my newborn care leave with part time hours....to help ease into work, help the baby get adjusted to preschool, and also bc i'm not ready to leave him at daycare for 10hrs a day. i was told that i either return full time or find another job bc they dont have pt jobs open.

iVillage Member
Thu, 03-01-2012 - 4:37pm
No advice but I wish you luck. Sadly FMLA only guarrntees you go back to the job you left. It does not allow you to change position/hours. I hope you find an answer soon.

Dixie

"Even miracles take a little time." ~ Fairy Godmother: Cinderella

TTC since April 2009

iVillage Member
Thu, 03-01-2012 - 5:19pm
Start looking for a new job is my advice. What do you do for work??
iVillage Member
Thu, 03-01-2012 - 6:15pm

I am an assistant manager for a 3 person site at a copy center located inside a college. I work for Ikon/ Ricoh.. The copy machines at like colleges and government offices are through us. I just talked to my aunt who happens to be in an HR course

iVillage Member
Thu, 03-01-2012 - 8:48pm

I agree that you should maybe look for a new job, possibly one with more flexibility.

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Fri, 03-02-2012 - 10:21am

Ugh, I'm sorry. If I were you, I would just weigh the pros/cons. What would you be giving up if you left? I don't think there's ever any harm in look around. If you find something that you like, that pays you what you need/want, and offers the flexibility that you're looking for then that's great.