Working mommas--Who will take care of your LO?

iVillage Member
Working mommas--Who will take care of your LO?
Wed, 03-23-2011 - 12:10pm

I am home now and will be hopefully until this baby is 9mths old at least (if i can stretch my savings i hope to

Pages

iVillage Member
Wed, 03-23-2011 - 12:17pm
We currently have a nanny for childcare for DS. I am a lawyer, but work a reduced schedule. But many times I am at the whims of clients, so we've found that a nanny provides the most flexibility (DH is a lawyer too, but not on a reduced schedule).

I looked into an in home daycare in our area (Dallas) but they were all booked up with 2 year waiting lists. I was shocked!

I will be taking 6 months off with this one (same with DS).

Childcare is very hard - good luck in your search!
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Wed, 03-23-2011 - 12:42pm

Jen,

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Wed, 03-23-2011 - 12:48pm

April, i am not working right now. I had my DD15 in daycare from 2 yrs old on. I stayed home with her until her 2nd birthday (and finished college - at the time it didn't pay for me to work since i didn't make very much). Same daycares are still open in my area that my 15 yr old went to. lol When i had my 15 yr old i had no paid maternity leave (you could take a certain amount of time off but it was unpaid). In U.S. it depends on company, but usually you get 6-12 weeks paid --that's it. I know Canada you get a year off and can keep your job. That does NOT happen in U.S. ever. I wish we had that here in U.S. That's a nice feature of your country i will tell you that!

iVillage Member
Wed, 03-23-2011 - 1:06pm

Roxy, yeah it pays to have a nanny if you are a lawyer. I am a legal assistant so i know how crazy busy lawyers can be!!

iVillage Member
Wed, 03-23-2011 - 1:11pm

Yes, I must say that I'm really glad to have the year off...I feel it is a very important time to spend with your new little one.

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Wed, 03-23-2011 - 2:05pm