10.5months low diaper output?

iVillage Member
10.5months low diaper output?
Thu, 11-05-2009 - 1:54am
With this being my third you'd think I was a pro ;) I'm worried that my 10.5 month old isn't getting enough. It seems he might just be making the low end of required diaper output and even that i'm not always sure of cause it seems i barely have to change him. His diapers are almost always yellowish in color and haven't been clear in sometime yet. He is still very alert, meeting milestones, gaining weight slowly but still gaining. He seems to be shooting up more in height, but i really need to take him in and get him checked for sure as i haven't lately. He does mostly nurse off of only my right side and barely off my left (i'm extremely lopsided). He nurses about 4 times during the day and around 2-3 times at night. I have to say that Evan is my most difficult nurser too, highly distractable, i need toys for him to play with in order for him to not pop off the breast constantly, even in dim light). I'm not really sure he's getting enough but have a hard time getting him to stay at the breast for any amount of time. He used to hate the left side which is what has contributed it to not have as much milk. To be honest I'm not even sure what I want to do. I used to dream of nursing him till he weaned himself but have lowered that to nursing him till a year and slowly weaning him till he's 18months-ish).... I guess what i'm looking for is help to get him to intake more (i guess and also increase supply would help that one), how do i tell that he's getting enough with such low diapers? I do suspect that he sucks more than using his tongue to nurse because i rarely feel his tongue in action, but dont' really know that one for sure, but it doesn't quite feel like the other two did. I realize though that it's probably too late to fix his latch this late in the game. Sorry if this came off a bit scatterbrained, I was typing info as i remembered and though might be needed. (o