should I tell at work...

iVillage Member
should I tell at work...
Wed, 01-25-2012 - 10:14am

Hi Ladies!

My due date is 8/21, so I am 10 weeks and 1 day today. This is my second pregnancy, my daughter is going to turn 3 in March.

I am already starting to show. To the point where my clothes don't fit me (I am quite skinny and I have quite a bump sticking out already). I feel like I should tell my staff (I am a manager) because someone else more nosy asks me and I won't be able to deny (I know they shouldn't ask, but that's what happened in my first pregnancy - women can be jerks and put you on the spot like that).

I believe that before I tell my staff (or right around the same time) I should tell my boss. The thing is that he's a guy and I only see him about once a month, so I'd have to schedule a meeting with him to tell him. I only started working here a little over a year ago, and got a promotion 3 months ago... so... you know - I got pregnant like a month after he promoted me.

This is so stressful, I would really appreciate your input. I was hoping to keep this news to myself until at least after the 'first look' ultrasound (it's in 2 weeks) but I really can't keep hiding my belly any more. What if I jinx myself? please help

BabyFetus Ticker
iVillage Member
Wed, 01-25-2012 - 10:31am

I personally like to wait before I tell work until after the 1st trimester.

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Wed, 01-25-2012 - 10:37am

I think it's tricky, for sure. I told my boss right after I went to the doc (so I was 5w4d or something like that). But, with my age and past history, I knew I'd have a slew of doc appointments, so I just wanted to give a reason for it rather than have him ask. I work at home (a recent event as we moved to a new state in June, so I'd only been working from home for 6 months when I told him), and don't have to request time off for appts or anything, but we do have an OOO calendar and it's just one of those things that everyone would notice.