penta screen positive for downs syndrome

iVillage Member
penta screen positive for downs syndrome
Fri, 02-10-2012 - 10:49am

I'm freaking out here. My NP called yesterday with the lab results from my 16 wk penta screen. Apparently I'm at 1/10 risk of having a downs syndrome baby. I'm 37 yrs old and pg with baby #2. No issues at all with baby #1 (she is 6 yrs old now). For my age alone I'm considered at risk, 1/180 chance. But mine is 1/10!!!!!!!!

that is a high number. I am going next week for a higher level US and another lab possibly (that depends on the US).

Pages

iVillage Member
Fri, 02-10-2012 - 11:25am
I am so sorry hun. I always refused the genetic screenin test because of my age(19) so I have no experience in this. However I do know a lady who was told all along she was going to have a downs baby and the weeks before he was born found out it had just been a shadow on the ultrasounds. I will be praying for you.
 photo siggy2.jpg

baby
Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
iVillage Member
Fri, 02-10-2012 - 11:41am
I also refused screenings, but only because of my age and because the nurse kept stressing to me that even if the test came back positive there was no guarantee the baby would actually have the disorder, and that there are a LOT of false positives. I didn't want to set myself up to be worried for no reason, and even if there was reason to worry, I couldn't do anything about it anyway and just had to deal with what God gave me. So try to remain positive and relax. I know, easier said than done. Sending prayers and positive thoughts your way!
iVillage Member
Fri, 02-10-2012 - 11:59am

We JUST had our scare and thankfully the test was WRONGish!

Lilypie Maternity tickers
iVillage Member
Fri, 02-10-2012 - 12:40pm

I'm so sorry to hear this. I also refused the tests because I wouldn't terminate for Down Syndrome and I have heard way too many false positive stories.

BabyFruit Ticker