When people at your job make you cry!

iVillage Member
When people at your job make you cry!
Tue, 09-20-2011 - 7:10pm

This isn't pregnancy related, but as a pregnant person, it really affects me deeply. This is a big rant.

I'm a martial arts instructor. I LOVE kids and I assist with all kinds. I'm only a level one which is a teacher's assistant, but I still sometimes get a small group of beginners to work with under the supervision of a higher instructor. I teach anywhere from 6-12 year olds with all different disabilities, physical and mental, and though it's hard and I can get a frustrated, at the end of the day, I LOVE what I do.

Two of the other instructors (one of them being the owner!) are currently having a competition between the two school about which school has the most *ahem* f----tarded white belts. It absolutely CRUSHED me to heard them talk about these kids like that when some of them actually do have problems. Especially since I'm pregnant, and my child has a chance of beign one of these kids, I get to thinking 'they would be saying the same thing about my kid if it were born and old enough to be in this program.' Me and DH are very professional and love what we do and don't believe in talking bad about these kids. They laugh about it, to me it's NOT funny. They even treat the students with disrespect, rolling their eyes and just throwing their hands up in the air, giving up, like they're a bunch of babies.

I went home crying, how can people be so cruel? Why is it a good person like me can't work there when that is really my dream and passion. I love these kids and every time I look at them, I know they're getting crapped talked about them and are treated so badley. It makes me worry about my child's involvment with ANYTHING!