BTDT: Breastfeeding

iVillage Member
BTDT: Breastfeeding
Mon, 11-26-2012 - 6:50pm

I've heard horror stories about breastfeeding.  I didn't breastfeed my DD at all.  I don't even remember having milk.  I told myself this time around I was going to try it out, but now I'm a little freaked out.  Between hearing about babies feeding every 2 hours, feeding for over 30 minutes at a time, and your nipples being sore, cracked, and bleeding, I'm beginning to think I may take the formula route again. Plus, another concern of mine is having time to pump when I get back to work (I'm a teacher so I won't be able to leave my students for an extended period of time).

BTDT moms, please share your stories on breastfeeding experiences.  Thanks!

iVillage Member
Tue, 11-27-2012 - 8:13am

Hi Mom2be,

I think it is awesome that you are thinking about breastfeeding now.  Knowledge is power and you have a lot of time to decide on the best option for you and baby!

I wanted to share a link with you to the Breastfeeding Support: Ask the Lactation Consultant topic here on iVillage.  The ladies there are great and I'm sure they'd love to share their experience and advice with you. I hope it helps!

Breastfeeding Support: Ask the Lactation Consultant- http://www.ivillage.com/forums/forum/17867

photo snowsiggy.png

iVillage Member
Tue, 11-27-2012 - 3:15pm