Laid off today...blessing in disguise?

iVillage Member
Laid off today...blessing in disguise?
Thu, 08-30-2012 - 11:31pm

Today I was unexpectedly laid off, along with a couple of other people in the company. Things had been slow for a while, but this kind of came out of left field. I was leaning toward not returning after the baby is born. They're eliminating my position entirely. While I am in a bit of a shock, I can't help but think this came at the right time. I had been struggling with the physical aspect of work and emotionally I wasn't doing so well. This morning in fact I had a pretty ugly cry in my car (pregnancy hormones didn't help, I'm sure).

I'm looking forward to taking the time before the baby to relax, prepare, help my mom out with my grandma's caretaking, focus better on my tutoring (I'm an adult literacy tutor). It's just strange that this morning I was employed and now I'm not.

How should I celebrate??

Julie - eagerly awaiting DH's homecoming & the arrival of our first DS, due 11/29/12

iVillage Member
Fri, 08-31-2012 - 8:59am
A similar thing happened to my bf a few months before she had her 2nd child and she really enjoyed the extra time at home before her ds was born - I would have been upset in that situation bc her position was specifically chosen for layoff bc she was due to go on mat leave in a short period of time thus she would be 'less effected' than another co-worker. If the timing is good for you then enjoy the 'blessing in disguise' and don't worry about the politics of it.

How to celebrate - hmmmm... since drinking is out of the question I default to having/making your favourite meal and vegging / napping! Then if you are like me you will be nesting as much as you possibly can.
Proud Mom to Annika (4), Jamie (3), and 4 angels. Anxiously awaiting Baby #3!
iVillage Member
Fri, 08-31-2012 - 9:13am