Division of labor in your household?

iVillage Member
Registered: 08-22-2009
Division of labor in your household?
26
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 9:27am

How does it break down in your household?

Pages

iVillage Member
Registered: 12-07-2003
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 9:43am

DH takes the kids to school and picks them up most days.  He also does all of the cooking and grocery shopping.  I do all of the cleaning, dishes, laundry, and outside stuff (mowing the grass, gardening, etc.)  I do the bills and budgeting.  We renegotiate periodically, but this is working for us right now.

iVillage Member
Registered: 08-22-2009
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 9:53am

I do the day to day finances, bill paying, balancing checkbook.  DH handles long term investments.

I am for the most part the family shopper unless it concerns electronics which is DH forte.  He will pick up a few items from a grocery store but does not do major shopping trips.

He takes the trash cans to the curb for trash day.  I usually put the trash cans back.

He does most of the outdoor stuff.  I will occasionally mow the front yard or some other chores.

Routine maintenance on the vehicles (like getting the old changed, inspections) is done by whoever drive that vehicle the most.

Dishes probably come in around 50/50 with me maybe slightly higher.  Routine cleaning, sweeping mopping picking up, bathrooms  etc, done by both but again a bit more by me.

Friday evening is laundry day and is usually started by who ever gets home from work first then done by both. Overall it probably balances out to about 50/50 but some weeks it may be entirely done by one, other weeks more evenly shared.

Home maintenance/repairs almost entirely falls in DH court although we are hiring out more of that.

We take care of our own breakfast and lunch.  Evenings meals are cooked by me about 80%  of the time, the other 20% we either eat out, fend for ourselves or he cooks. 

iVillage Member
Registered: 01-08-2009
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 9:56am
Each of us does 70% of the work.
iVillage Member
Registered: 02-20-2013
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 9:59am

I do the bulk of the household chores: cleaning, cooking, shopping, laundry, scheduling, etc. The kids and DH contribute in the sense of cleaning up after themselves and being decent human beings--he'll unload the dishwasher if he's up before me and it needs to be done. Or fold the laundry in the dryer if he's washing his hobby-related stuff.

The kids pick up after themselves, make their beds, put their laundry away, etc. DS is learning to cook, (closely supervised) and DD can operate the toaster herself. :)

On Wednesdays we wear pink.

iVillage Member
Registered: 10-23-2001
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 10:37am
There's not really a division per se, I do most of it. The kids and DH help.

 


 


Avatar for BeaArthurisMyReligion
iVillage Member
Registered: 02-20-2013
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 11:06am

my wife cooks b/c I hate it, we care equally for the cats,  we both drive the girl to her various activities although I do the school drive in the morning, I tend to be in charge of trash, she handles most major cleaning although for some reason I am in charge of toilet cleaning.. don't ask me why... we both handle the laundry and the girl does her own laundry.  The girl is also incharge of clearing the table every night, and I load the dishwasher and do dishes.   I loathe unloading the dishwasher so my wife usually does that.. and she hates taking the trash out to the curb so I usually do that..

iVillage Member
Registered: 10-10-2011
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 12:41pm
No real break down. If something needs to be done, it gets done.
iVillage Member
Registered: 01-05-2000
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 12:47pm

Me:  majority of the grocery shopping; about half the cooking; laundry for dh and me; picking up around the house; home schooling; about half of the bills.

Dh:  some of the grocery shopping; about half the cooking; puts away his clean laundry; vacuums, sweeps, mops floors; dusts and takes care of cobwebs; yardwork; dog; cleans our bathroom; the rest of the bills.

Dylan:  cleans his room; cleans the guest/his bathroom; helps pick up house; sets table; does his laundry; dog; yardwork; takes care of cobwebs.

All in all I'd guess that I do maybe 35% of the housework, dh does the majority, and Dylan does maybe 25%  Lots of things overlap depending on who's home when.  When the girls were young, I did most of it because I was a sahm/very ptwahm and dh worked.  Now with only Dylan (15 and only 3 years away from being an adult), things are evening up.

CHris

The truth may be out there but lies are in your head. Terry Pratchett

Avatar for turtleemom
iVillage Member
Registered: 07-25-2007
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 12:47pm

Coming out of lurkdom, as this one seems harmless enough.  I am a SAHM, DH works at home, and DS (age 12) is homeschooled.   While this is the typical chore division, no one would deny help because it is not their job. 

I do the laundry, ironing, meal planning, scheduling, dusting, mopping,  clothes and gift shopping, and most of the cooking.  I also am the one who grooms the dogs and brushes their teeth and walks them, and handles vet visits.  I handle the sorting of the mail.

DH vacuums, cleans the bathrooms, is the light bulb changer, picks up after the dogs in the yard, takes care of the mowing, and any car maintenance.  He also keeps the cars filled with gas.   He helps the kid with the fish tanks.

The kid takes care of all garbage and recycling.  He dusts and keeps clean the lower level (a 2nd family room and Lego area) and his room.  He scoops and changes cat litter and maintains his fish tanks.  He helps put away groceries and helps with the grocery shopping (2 lists, 2 carts divide and conquer).  He did all the snow shoveling this year.

DH and I split running errands and driving the kid to activities and classes.   DH and I get together twice a month to go over receipts and pay bills.  Once it gets warmer, cooking is more split between us with DH grilling and me taking care of the inside food prep.   We split grocery shopping or do it together. 

When DH travels (frequently), the kid takes on dog waste and bathrooms, and I take on the vacuuming.  

Avatar for rollmops2009
iVillage Member
Registered: 02-24-2009
Sun, 03-24-2013 - 12:48pm
Dahlia does most of it and I pay her accordingly. Dh shops all the heavy stuff, dog food, laundry soap etc, since I am not allowed to lift much. He also takes out the garbage and does the bulk of the dog walking (3 dogs that get walked 3X a day) as well as the vast majority of the money-making. I do light shopping and cook when I feel like it. The rest of the time we eat out. I don't have a chandelier though.

Pages