How about a roll call for the New Year?

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-26-2003
How about a roll call for the New Year?
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 11:03am
It's been awhile.

I was a SAHM for 12 years, went back to work when my DD3 went to school full time. Have been a WOHM for 8 years. For the last five years I have worked in a stock room and have increased my hours as the girls have gotten older. I now work about 36-40 hours per week.

We were a military family. I met my DH when we were both stationed in Japan. I got out when pregnant for DD1. He made a career of it and retired 5 years ago.

We have been married for 22 years and have three DDs. DD1 is 20 and a junior in college (major finance), DD2 is 18 and a freshman in college (major elementary education), DD3 is a freshman in high school.


Avatar for laurenmom2boys
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-25-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 11:32am
I'm Lauren, a WOHM married to DH, a WOHD. We'll been married 13 years on Monday (1/5). Our beautiful DSs are almost-11 (2/16) and 9. They're in 5th and 4th grades. I work in telecommunications and have for 22.5 years. DH is a dentist who opened his own practice in 1999. He's been practicing for almost 20 years. We met through one of my closest friends who happened to be one of DH's patients. We were both born and raised and now live in NJ.
iVillage Member
Registered: 12-12-2002
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 12:01pm

I'm Melissa, or Missie as half the board now calls me...LOL.

Okmrsmommy-36, CPmom to DD-16 and DS-14

iVillage Member
Registered: 12-21-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 12:54pm
I'm Jennifer, 33. I'm a ftsahm to two children son 4, daughter 2. Hubby and I have been married 6 years. We were both born & raised in Indiana, where we currently live. I spend a great deal of time at church in different functions, primarily in the music dept. I love to read & research theological topics. When my children are a little older I look forward to going back to school to work on an RN degree. I plan to start at least 2 evening classes in fall 2004.

My personality generally leads me to shy away from debate & argument but I have found this forum to be quite educational and a bit entertaining. One specific debate recently led me to make a huge decision regarding childcare - my terminating watching a baby - the many views of the mothers here really prompted me to think some things thru, so Thanks everyone for being here!!!

iVillage Member
Registered: 10-18-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 1:05pm

I am Hollie. Recently divorced mother of two; dd 7.5 and ds 3.5.

I am now a "have to" WOHM. I used to be a "choose to" WOHM. I am the Director of Member Services for my local Chamber of Commerce. Love my job. It doesn't have a *lot* of flexibility, but its not rigid and I'm only working 40-43 hours on average. Ds goes FT to a local child care facility. Dd is in 2nd grade, but is at said cc facility for about 20 min in the morning and about an hour in the afternoon. I pay $137 per week for both kids.

I WAH with dd until she was 9mo, then WOHPT until she was 2. She entered dc very very very pt at 6 weeks and regular pt at 9mo, then ft at 2.

I took a long mat leave with ds. Went back to work at 12 weeks and he started dc ft. Then our transfer orders came and I ended up SAH with him from about 16 weeks until he was over a year.

What else? I'm 32. Born and raised in Oklahoma; moved to VA at age 23, moved to AZ at age 30, then back to OK this summer. I'm *home* again.

I have a BS in Marketing and an MBA. I actually use both for my job.

Choose your friends by their character and your socks by their color.  Choosing your socks by their character makes no sense and choosing your friends by their color is unthinkable.

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-27-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 1:12pm
I'm Dj, 38 (almost 39,yikes!) with a 35yo dh and 2 children, 12yo dd and 4yo ds. I woh ft until my ds was born, then took an early retirement and sah ft for 2 years. I have woh pt for the last 2.5 years in a small exclusive restaurant, and have been going to school pt for about 3 years. Ds will be in kindergarten next year, and I plan to continue to woh pt and go to school ft. Once I get my degree I plan to woh ft, hopefully something in the school district so my hours and days off somewhat coincide with my childrens (and I want another retirment fund).

Dh and I met at work, knew each other casually for 6 years before we started dating. He was a single parent to dd and I adopted her about 3 years ago. We are coming up on our 5 year wedding anniversary. He still works where we met, at a semi-major airline.



"Now when I need help, I look in the mirror" ~Kanye West~

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-26-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 2:32pm
Okay and it gives me a chance to correct John's age. I'm a WOHM to a 21 year old son (I just realized that thread above the wrong age got quoted and I just ran along with it--teach me to be distracted while posting). John works as a network admin, goes to college part time and is newly engaged (as of Dec 21) to a wonderful young woman who is a full-time college student, part-time WOHM to an adorable 2 year old that I can't WAIT to claim as my step-grandson (nor wait to claim her as my DIL). They are planning to get married on May 21, 2005.

I work night shift as a typesetter for a financial printing in downtown Washington, DC (one block from the White House), which places me smack dab in the center of the DC shopping/theater/museum district.

I live close to Baltimore in the Baltimore/Washington corridor, have owned my condo for the past 15 years and am owned by a grey, dmh cat, Cyduck and a seal-point Siamese, Buster; 2 budgies (Winston and Indy) and a black fish, species and type totally unknown. my roommate stuck him in my fish tank with my fantail goldfish and an algae eater that the black fish prompty killed--roomie had a fish tank die and was trying to save the black fish--It's pretty big (about 3 inches long, and appears to have grey or brown (depending on the lighting) stripes.

As I mentioned, I have a roommate who has lived with us since the summer of 95. and no, "roommate" is not a euphemism for "lover"; he's actually my roommate and in case she's reading the board, "No Mom, he hasn't broken up with his girlfriend and we aren't getting married and please find someone else to covet as a son-in-law."

I am great friends with my ex and his wife. We socialize regularly. I babysit for them; they lend me my ex's services as handyman when I need electrical and plumbing work done. We vacation together, but not all the time; we take a trip to DisneyWorld together every 5 years and have gone twice so far; we're looking forward eagerly to our next visit because my future step-grandson is exactly one month older than John's little sister (by his dad and stepmom) and they will both be 5 when we go next time--a VERY fun age for a first trip to Disney. This particular tradition began 17 years ago when my ex and I took John and his girl cousin who were 4 at the time, and they were a blast. My son's stepmom and I just can't wait to have a step-grandson to spoil, as well as grandkids we won't have to share with our DIL's ex :)

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-26-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 3:08pm

Hello, my name is Felicia and I am a militant work out of the home mother. Yup, I am.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /> 

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-29-1999
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 3:56pm
I'm Mappers, WOHM, DH is a PT SAHD and musician. DDs are 7 & 4. Three Cats. I work as a Business Analyst for a Benfits Outsourcing Company. DH is a member of a Jug Band and is home with the girls when not traveling.
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-26-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 4:21pm
Jennifer, 29, WAHM.

Married to dh (30) - 6 years come February. Dd5 in half-day pre-K and ballet, ds4, legomonger. My dh is also a long-distance NCP to his 2 children from a previous marriage.

Dh and I met on AOL.

I was a SAHM for 2 years... then I worked for about a year running my own resale business (the kids went to *work* with me.) I now WAH 15-20 hours per week, doing resale on eBay (I also sell on commision for clients) and also I WAH doing advertising and *back office* work for a few businesses. My latest and greatest WAH venture has been in direct marketing for my small business clients, writing newsletters, and forming target advertising databases via Bressers. To add to my ever-growing list of AH adventures, I recently took on an online college course, and am hoping to finish my college degree, very PT for another year, and depending on the speed of my WAH, will go at it full force, and maybe *someday* return to WOH FT.

I am AH for about a thousand and thirty reasons, but really, I am bound and determined to make it work for me and our family.

I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank the women on this board. Your input and perspectives on things have really changed my thoughts a TON in the last year!

Avatar for mygriffin
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-28-2003
Sat, 01-03-2004 - 4:24pm
Me (36), DH (35), Griffin (5.5), Garrett (2.5).

I'm a PT WOHM. Two and half days a week while my parents watch my boys. Been working PT for 5 years now. Would love to go back more hours once they're both in school. I love work!!

We live in So. CA with a 150-lb. rottweiler named Frankie.

I don't give a rat's @$$ if there's a proven benefit to SAH (or in my case WPT). I do it because I want to.